American Idol – Final (Elite) 8 Live Analysis

ATTENTION – This blog has a new home address. All the material below is on the new site plus updated material as well. Come on over for a visit. Click here!

It’s gameday again. Being as sports-minded as I am, I always look forward to the actual game. Practice is the necessary evil that helps you get to the real deal….GAMETIME. I was curious about the theme for tonight and found out at another site that the eight fighters left try their hand at inspirational stuff. They also offered a few song suggestions.

David Archuleta – Papa Don’t Preach by Madonna
Kristy Lee Cook – Don’t Speak by No Doubt
Michael Johns – Tie Me Kangaroo Down, Sport by Rolf Harris
Brooke White – Crybaby by Mariah Carey
David Cook – My Heart Will Go On by Celine Dion
Jason Castro – I Am Not My Hair by India.Arie
Carly Smithson – I’ve Got You Under My Skin by Frank Sinatra
Syesha Mercado – Don’t Forget About Us by Mariah Carey

Gotta give ’em credit…those are pretty stinkin’ funny. I’m hoping I don’t like the suggestions better than what actually happens. I have a suspicion that our contestants will either soar or flop…I don’t think there will be any in-between ground. Come back at game-time and we’ll get out the telestrator and explain what you’re seeing. Who needs John Madden anyway?

  • Double D Johns – Coming out of the locker room first and in an inspirational mood is our favorite contestant from the land down under this season, Double D. Dream On shares a lot in common with his band of choice, Queen. Pretty good for him, but he’s still got to figure out a way to shuck and jive. Every now and then he looks a little frozen behind the mic, so he needs some movement. He needs to make the ascot flap in the breeze.
  • Syesha Mercado – I always think it’s a bad choice to sing a song from a previous winner. Fantasia had a truly unique voice, but maybe that will help prevent comparison. This is the first song she’s done with a little attitude and I think it’s helping her. Her weakness has been a lack of connection with the audience so some ‘tude will help. Not bad. But Randy is NOT sensing the same “tude that I sensed and there is the comparison I worried about for her. Good job, still on the fence.
  • JC – Yet another stellar masculine song from the resident manly-man. I guess I’m just going to have to give up on expecting anything different from him. He obviously just doesn’t have it in him….so this is it. A quick shot of the crowd revealed that they are either mesmerized or hating it. According to the judges, it was great. I will admit that if you’re singing “Over the Rainbow” on a yukelele (sp?) it’s not bad…but it’s just not my thing.
  • KLC – Sticking with country roads, she’s going the Martina McBride route. While I’m not a country fan, I do know this song, and I must admit that I like it. KLC does seem to be getting better each week…it may be just marginal, but she looks and sounds like she’s finally loosening up. She needs to open her eyes more though….You can’t what you’re about to get hit by when you’re not looking. Good for her tonight.
  • David Cook – The #1 contendor for the title plans a piece I don’t know. That means less and less with each passing year, but I really don’t have a frame of reference for this song. I’ll just have to evaluate it on it’s own merit. OK…I don’t know this song…but I’m NOT digging this one. For the first time since the real competition started, I think he’s made a strategic mistake. Now I realize that the judges may completely disagree, but to my ears, having not heard this song before, I didn’t like it. Randy is in my corner and so is Simon. So I must be on track.
  • Carly Smithson – We just can’t seem to stay away from Queensville this season. if Double D isn’t doing one, somebody else is. Smithson has a chance to make a major step forward this week after her first “real” performance in Round 4 last week. But I think she’s slipping. There are parts of this song that are really good, but the whole package is not capitalizing on last week’s momentum.
  • David Archuleta – Taking a spot where he can tickle the ivories, DA is voted most likely to succeed this week since these types of songs are custom-made for him. But as I remind you each week, there are always chances for surprises. He’s comfortable with himself and with the setting, but he’s struggling a bit with the delivery. It’s not his best…but he’s bringing it in for a pretty good landing. It’s kind of like hitting a few bumps in the air, but having a smooth landing. In the end, what matters is that you landed safely. He’ll be fine, but it’s sitll not his best.
  • Brooke White – Still my personal favorite, she took a hit in the solar-confidencus last week that took her down to the bottom three. She may not be the favorite to win, but I am 100% positive that she will be able to make a very successful career regardless of what happens. A Carole King song is a very good match for her strengths so I expect her to really deliver. And I am not disappointed. I know every one may not share my view here, but I like what I like, and I really like her voice and her personality. It’s a great blend and totally enjoyable. LOVED IT! (But I’m biased)

SURPRISING PERFORMANCES OF THE NIGHT

  • Good
    • KLC – Not necessarily the best of the night, but surprisingly good for our purveyor of country-fried chicken.
  • Bad
    • David Cook – This is his first appearance in this category, but I think this was a major mis-step. I don’t expect him to be in any trouble, but really not good tonight.
    • Smithson – I agree with Simon that the whole think seemed a bit angry which was the opposite of what the songs were going for. She could have made a major move forward, but she blew her opportunity.
  • Most Enjoyable (a tie)
    • Brooke White – I know this gets a bit repetitive, but even Simon said it was like a pleasant walk through the park.

Final Round Five Scoring Analysis

  • Last week totally threw me off since two of the three were real surprises – Malubay Barbie because I thought her voting would hold up, and Brooke because I think she’s great. So I’m a little off kilter. I’m leaning toward Mercado since I’m still not convinced of her voting fans, Smithson because she’s shown weakness before, and this was not a performance that connected, and the last spot a toss-up between Brooke (please, no!) and JC (please, yes!) Only this time, we’ll have to wait a week. No one goes home this week. 🙂
One Response

  1. According to Ryan, we will get results on Thursday. 🙂

Leave a Reply

