Does the Presidential Election Matter?

presidential-seal.jpgI NEED YOUR VOTE!

The blogging world continues to expand in very cool directions for me.  I am learning, I am meeting new people, I am being challenged, and I am loving it.  One of the latest stretches for me is a blogging tournament run by the guys over at Planting Space.  It’s a blog geared toward the DNA-freaks that become church planters.  Anyway, they’ve decided to stage this blogging tourney pitting church planters from around the web-world against each other blogging on assigned themes.  Votes will be cast, and winners will advance.  This week’s topic is “Does the Presidential Election Matter?”  My response is below, but it would be really cool if you would drop by and cast a vote beginning 4/3/08 ……….(CLICK HERE TO VOTE): ………

Official Competitive Entry –

As the fires still burned and the carnage became more starkly real, we heard, Yesterday, December 7, 1941, a date which will live in infamy, the United States of America was suddenly and deliberately attacked by naval and air forces of the Empire of Japan.“ 

As the Cold War waned on, and the battle of national will and the undying human spirit spurred him on, Reagan challenged his Russian counterpart, “General Secretary Gorbachev, if you seek peace, if you seek prosperity for the Soviet Union and Eastern Europe, if you seek liberalization: Come here to this gate! Mr. Gorbachev, open this gate! Mr. Gorbachev, tear down this wall! 

As a nation strove with itself, standing before what remained of a bloody battlefield, Lincoln reminded us that “Four score and seven years ago our fathers brought forth on this continent, a new nation, conceived in Liberty, and dedicated to the proposition that all men are created equal.”

Do elections matter?…… Did it matter after Pearl Harbor?

Do elections matter?……  Did it matter in Berlin?

Do elections matter?……  Did it matter at Gettysburg?

Does the election matter?  I can only echo the words of Jefferson, “We hold these truths to be self-evident.”

End of post (they’re limited to 200 words or less). 

But at least here, I can expand on that question just a bit.  Without question, our number one priority is to the work of Jesus Christ and the kingdom of God.  Jesus repeated over and over that he came to “seek and save what is lost”, not to refine government.  And I must admit that in the past, I have been skewed more toward political answers than spiritual ones.  Maybe it’s because it seems more concrete.  Maybe it’s because it feels as if we have more to say about what actually happens (not that we as humans like to control things).  I thought for years that I may even eventually run for office.  But life and experience has taught me to temper my expectations of politicians and raise my expectations of God.  Every time I have placed faith in a politician, he has failed me somewhere along the way.  However, every time I have placed faith in the power of Jesus Christ, he has met and exceeded my expectations.  Hmmm, Dorothy….what have we learned? 

Now it may sound as if I am suggesting that elections and politics actually DON’T matter.  But that’s not what I’m saying at all.  I’m saying they will never provide the answers and solutions that Jesus offers.  So let’s re-prioritize.  But a shift in priority doesn’t mean abandonment.  I still firmly believe we are called to be good citizens.  It is what makes our nation work.  Jesus didn’t condemn government.  In fact, he made it clear that government is actually instituted by God for the good of man.  So where does that leave us?  It means that it matters.  It means we participate.  It means we vote.  It means we let our voice be heard.  Does it matter who leads?  Of course it does.  Does it matter who sits on the Supreme Court deciding what our laws actually mean?  Without a doubt.  We need to be a part of the process.  But in so doing, let’s not forget where our real hope is….where our real future is….and where the answers for all of life’s questions can actually be found…..in Jesus Christ. 

Leave a Reply

