Totally Stoked

It’s late Wednesday night and I have been steady at it all day.  Which means I haven’t had a window to post a blog entry yet today.  But I wanted to share with you that I will be attending a conference tomorrow at Riverside Church here in Peoria.  The guest speaker will be Mark Driscoll, Pastor of Mars Hill Church in Seattle.

I’ve known a little about Driscoll for a while now, but haven’t REALLY known his story.  Here’s what I have known:

  • that he is hugely controversial
  • he founded and pastors a church that has seen incredible growth in one of the most secular, non-churched areas in America. 

I’ve only recently begun to realize why he’s so controversial, and, in all likelihood, what some of the primary factors are behind his church’s growth. 

The Grove has made a public declaration that we want to create an environment that is conducive to reaching and growing men in their faith.  But we have had no other church that we are aware of to look to for some guidance since so few churches actively attempt to reach men.  But I think that may have just changed.  Take a few minutes (4) to watch this video:

This is who I’m going to listen to tomorrow (Thursday).  This guy is singing a song very few are singing, but God is seriously blessing his ministry.  I am totally amped up to hear what lessons he has learned and how they can help The Grove. 

I would love to hear your reactions to the video so take a few minutes to leave a thought or two. 

3 Responses

  1. Wow! You get to listen to this guy today?!?! Be sure to take lots of notes. It’s so reassuring to hear someone saying what we’ve been saying, especially when he lives clear across the nation. I’m going to send this link to Tim’s brother and see what he’s heard about this church in Seattle. I’m loving the blog!

  2. Pastor Mark is indeed controversial, but there is a side to his leadership style that will not show up in the Mars Hill promo literature.

    See:
    (link deleted)

    There you will find links to a couple of other blogs regarding the present controversy at MH.

  3. Spinwatcher,
    You have chosen to make a public comment on my blog so I will respond in public as well. I have seen your blog regarding “controversy” at Mars Hill. Each person is always free to interpret actions in a different light than someone else. That is your right. But you are not free to go seeking out public opportunities to spread dissension. That is of Satan and it is not of God.

    Proverbs warns in chapter 6 to beware of “a heart that devises wicked shcemes, feet that are quick to rush into evil, a false witness who pours out lies and a man who stirs up dissension among brothers.”

    Proverbs 16 tells us that “a perverse man stirs up dissension and a gossip separates close friends.”

    Paul warned in Galatians chapter 5, ” The acts of the sinful nature are obvious: sexual immorality, impurity and debauchery; idolatry and witchcraft; hatred, discord, jealousy, fits of rage, selfish ambition, dissensions, factions and envy; drunkenness, orgies, and the like. I warn you, as I did before, that those who live like this will not inherit the kingdom of God.”

    I do not know you, but I do know your actions are vile and are completely ungodly. I urge you to seek God’s forgiveness as well as confess to those you are slandering in public.

    This blog is not your space to spread malicious information and any further post will be promptly deleted unless it is one of contrition.

Leave a Reply

